What Can I Do If I Was Charged With My Second DWI Charge?
Driving related alcohol penalties can be harsh. They limit your ability to drive and affect your employment options, your family and your reputation. The consequences are even worse if you are charged multiple times. Your best defense starts when you hire Meaney and Patrin, P.A.
The Number Of Offenses Increases The Consequences
DWI and DUI charges stay on your record for 10 years and the penalties get worse as the number of violations increase.
The charges are more severe if there is a test refusal; if blood alcohol content was twice the legal limit; or if there was someone younger than 16 in the vehicle when you were pulled over. As the number of someone’s drunk driving offenses increase, so do the negative consequences.
- Second offense: Gross misdemeanor – One year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine, whiskey plates, license revocation and possible administrative charges.
- Third: Gross misdemeanor – One year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine, vehicle forfeiture, whiskey plates, license revocation, and more severe administrative penalties.
- Fourth or more: Felony – Seven years in prison and/or a $14,000 fine, vehicle forfeiture, whiskey plates, cancellation of license, and severe administrative penalties.
Sentencing might include intensive probation for multiple DWI offenders. It might include remote electronic alcohol monitoring or home detection.
Minnesota’s DWI Guys Will Work For You
Our team has gotten charges reduced or dropped even in the most complicated cases. We cannot guarantee the same results, but we will work with you to get favorable results. We will check the facts and evidence.
There are diversion programs and we might be able to demonstrate to the court that your participation indicates your desire to change your behaviors and take control of your life. Minnesota’s DWI laws are complex. The severity of your penalties will depend on the facts of your case, your past drunk driving offenses and your driving record. We will work to make sure all evidence was gathered correctly and that police followed the proper procedures.
Legal Arguments Are Possible Even for Cases that Seem Insurmountable
If you or a family member has been charged with a second or third drinking and driving offense in a decade, call the DUI Guys at 612-688-2299 or email us.