Minnesota is among the most expensive states for car insurance with average premiums over $1,300. However, the amount drivers pay for their basic coverage can vary dramatically based on numerous factors, such as age, the type of vehicle they drive and their genders. Driving records play a significant role in determining how high one’s premiums will be, and few violations can impact insurance rates like a drunk driving conviction.
Insurance companies consider drivers with DWIs on their records to be high risk drivers, placing others in danger by their reckless behavior. Therefore, it is not unusual for insurance rates to jump as high as 88% after a DWI conviction, potentially costing drivers more than $6,600 for full coverage insurance. Of course, car insurance may be only one concern for a driver facing a DWI charge.
Insurance isn’t necessary if you can’t drive
Before even considering the hike in one’s insurance rates, a driver with a DWI conviction will have to wait out the period of a driver’s license revocation. Minnesota law requires a minimum 90-day license revocation after most first-offense DWIs. However, some convicted drivers may qualify for limited driving privileges or ignition interlock, which means they will need to pay for insurance if they want to drive.
Unfortunately, getting back behind the wheel may be a low priority considering the other consequences of a DWI. Paying for insurance may seem impossible if a DWI conviction leads to the loss of employment or disqualification from certain professional licensure. Therefore, it is wise to take every possible step to avoid a conviction for drunk driving and to resist getting behind the wheel in the future after one has consumed alcohol.